These definitions are more advanced than the Social Media Glossary. There are for those who are interested in understanding how to advertise on both Instagram and Facebook.

Definitions courtesy of ADVERTISEMINT

  • 1

10-Second Video Views

The number of times your video was viewed to 10 seconds. If your video is less than 10 seconds, then this refers to the number of times people viewed 97% of your video. This gauges the video's relevance to its audience.

 

3

30-Second Video Views

This shows the number of times your video was viewed to 30 seconds. If your video is 30 seconds or less, then this refers to the number of times people viewed 97% of your video.

 

A

A/B Testing

A/B testing, also called split testing, is a method that tests which ad headlines, body copy, images, call-to-actions work best on your target audience. A/B testing can help you compare the performance of multiple variables in a campaign and determine which one is best for your objectives.

 

About Section

The about section contains basic information that will help visitors quickly learn more about you on your Facebook page. Different types of basic information such as description, address, phone number, and URL will appear on your page’s About section, depending on your Page’s category and settings.

 

Account Currency

Account currency is the currency that is used by your ad account. Any charges will appear in the currency that is selected.

 

Account ID

This is a unique ID for an ad account represented by a series of unique numbers. It may be needed if you are sharing access with your account or determining the difference between two accounts with the same name. You can find your ad account number in the dropdown menu located on the top left(...)

 

Account Settings

Account settings is used to manage any basic account preferences. You can edit your name and email address, change your notifications preferences, turn on extra security features, and more. To find your settings, click on the top right corner of your Facebook homepage and select Settings.

 

Account Spending Limit

This is the amount you set for your entire ad account. You can set an overall limit on your budget, which can be adjusted at any time. This optional feature manages the amount you spend on Facebook ads. There are two ways to change your account spending limit: you can update the spending limit(...)

 

Actions

The data shown for "Actions" include all actions taken by users within 24 hours after viewing an ad or sponsored story in your campaign or within 28 days after clicking on it. You will only see this data if you are promoting a page, event, or app. Actions include page and post likes, event(...)

 

Activity Log

Your activity log is a tool that allows you to review and manage posts you share on Facebook. Only you can see your activity log. The activity log helps you manage your page’s Timeline. It shows you a complete list of posts and comments by your page, including hidden posts. Only people who(...)

 

Ad Account

The grouping of all your specific ad activity. Your ad account includes different campaigns, ad sets, ads, and billing information. You can manage multiple ad accounts through business manager.

 

Ad Auction

The ad auction is the method advertisers use to purchase ads. In the auction process, all Facebook ads compete against one another, and the ad with the best bid and value score wins. If you'd like to make your ad more competitive in the auction, raise your bid. Advertisers are only charged(...)

 

Ad ID

This unique numerical ID differentiates between every ad created. Include this number in any support requests to ensure a faster resolution.

 

Ad Reports

Ad reports help you reach your business goals by allowing you to view important ad metrics and individuals engaging with your ads. Reports, which can be scheduled and saved for future use, can include date ranges, graphs, customized columns, and tables. Ad reports can be created or exported to(...)

 

Ad Set

All targeting for Facebook ads is done on the Ad Set level. An ad set can include multiple ads, bidding preferences, a budget, and a schedule. You can create an ad set for each of your audience segments by making the ads within the ad set target the same audience. This will help you control(...)

 

Ad Set Budget

The budget you set when you create an ad set. Two types of budgets exist: the daily budget and the lifetime budget. The daily budget is the maximum amount you are willing to spend each day, which begins at midnight, to promote your page. The lifetime budget is used for campaigns that have a(...)

 

Ad-Targeting

Ad targeting contains all of the target options you choose to define your target audience (e.g. location, gender, age, likes, interests, relationship status, workplace, and education). All Facebook ads require you to create a target audience using its over 850 targeting options.

 

Add to Cart

The number of times an item was added to a shopping cart on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Add to Cart Conversion Value

The total value that represents the amount of items that were added to a cart on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Admin

Admins are people who manage the activity of ad accounts, fan pages, or Facebook groups. Admins also have the ability to post, moderate, or control content and to add or remove other users from account roles.

 

Ads API

The Ads API allows you to create and manage ads on Facebook programmatically. The API allows Facebook Preferred Marketing Partners to build solutions for marketing automation with Facebook's advertising platform.

 

Ads Manager

Ads Manager is where you can view, edit, and access performance reports for all your campaigns, ad sets, and ads. From your Ads Manager, you can view all of your Facebook ad campaigns and payment history, make changes to your bids and budgets, export ad performance reports from the Reports(...)

 

Advertising Policies

Facebook's Advertising Policies provide information on the type of ad content and practices that are allowed or not allowed on the site. If you violate these policies, Facebook may block your accounts or reject your ads.

 

Age

When targeting and reviewing your performance metrics in Ads Manager, age refers to the age of the audience you have reached. You can target an ad to a specific age in Ads Manager or Power Editor. Keep in mind, however, that Facebook requires all users to be at least 13 years old to create an(...)

 

Amount Spent

The total amount you have spent during the dates you have selected in your Ads Manager.

 

App

An interactive software application developed to use Facebook's core technologies. Facebook apps are created by third parties who add features and functionality to the Facebook experience.

 

App Engagement

An objective that allows advertisers to find users who have downloaded their app. The ads encourage users to re-engage with the app after they have installed it.

 

App Installs

This is the number of times users have installed your app because of your ad. Advertisers must first register their app with Facebook in order to determine the cost per action (CPA). Advertisers only pay when users install an app from a Facebook ad. The star rating from the App Store or Google(...)

 

App Story Engagement

The number of actions related to the application story as a result of your ad. This often encourages people to engage more with the content in their newsfeed.

 

App Uses

The number of times users have used your app as a result of your ad.

 

Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Artificial intelligence (AI) is the intelligence exhibited by machines or software. Facebook's AI is able to recognize patterns in how you interact and deliver content. If you often like updates from a certain person, Facebook might suggest different ways for you to see more from that person.

 

Audience

This is a group of people who can potentially see your ads.

 

Audience Insights

A Facebook tool designed to help marketers learn more about their target audiences, including information about geography, demographics, lifestyle, purchase behavior, or all of the above. Marketers can run reports on any Facebook user, including people connected to their fan page or a specific(...)

 

Audience Network Ads

The Audience Network enables advertisers to extend the scale of their Facebook ad campaigns beyond Facebook and into mobile apps that have partnered with Facebook to display ads. Although these ads run outside of Facebook, they can leverage all the targeting, measurement, and other tools for(...)

 

Audience Retention

This metric lets you know how long viewers are watching your video. The audience retention graph in Page Insights shows the level of interest in different parts of your video. Spikes in the graph indicate that people are re-watching particular moments, whereas a dips show the precise moment(...)

 

Augmented Reality (AR)

Augmented reality (AR) is a technology that layers a digital image over a user’s view of a physical, real-world environment. Unlike virtual reality (VR), which creates a digital, 3D simulation of the real world, augmented reality augments the environment with graphic overlays and special effects.

 

Autobid

Also known as Optimized CPM,  autobid automatically optimizes your bid to help you reach your advertising goal. This can be for impressions, clicks, app installs, or conversions. Facebook will adjust the spend to reach the users who are most likely to complete your objective. When you select(...)

 

Average CPC

Average Cost Per Click is the average amount you are paying for each click on your ad. This is calculated as total clicks on your ad over cost during the same time period. For example, if your ad receives two clicks, one costing $1 and one costing $2, your average CPC for those clicks is $1.50.

 

Average CPM

The amount you are paying on average for every thousand impressions of your ad. This is calculated as the number of thousands of times your ad is displayed over the cost for that ad during the same time period.

 

Average Duration of Video Viewed

The average length of time people spent viewing your video. This is the total video watch time divided by the total number of times your video was played.

 

Average Percent of Video Viewed

The average percentage of your video that people viewed. This is the total video view percentage divided by the total number of times your video was played.

 

 

B

Backup Payment Method

Additional optional payment methods you can add to your ad account. If there is a problem with your primary payment method, Facebook will charge fees using the backup payment method of your choice.

 

Bid

The bid is the amount you are willing to pay to have your ad displayed. You can use automatic or manual bidding, depending on your payment preferences. Using automatic bidding will optimize your bid to reach your objective. For example, you can choose to get the most website conversions at the(...)

 

Billing Summary

The billing summary shows you a list of all of your past ad charges. Clicking each description link will take you to a detailed breakdown for that charge, including the dates that the charge covers and the specific ads that ran during that period.

 

Billing Threshold

A billing method that bills your account after you spend a certain amount. Billing thresholds vary by country, and they are based on the currency of your ad account and the payment method you use to pay for ads. Billing thresholds determine when you are billed and how often you are billed for(...)

 

Boosted Post

A Boosted post is a regular post that you pay Facebook to advertise. Boosted posts, like Facebook ads, will appear on the news feeds of a target audience.

 

Broad Categories

Broad categories are predefined targeting categories provided by Facebook that group users according to their likes and interests, the apps they use, and the pages they like, among other criteria. When creating an ad, you can use broad category targeting to reach groups of people who share(...)

 

Budget

The maximum amount you are willing to spend on each campaign.

 

Business Manager

A website that helps businesses and agencies manage their Facebook pages, ad accounts, and apps in one place. Business Manager also allows advertisers to centrally manage different permission levels of team members working on ad accounts or pages.

 

 

C

 

Call-to-Action Buttons (CTA Buttons)

The button that appears on a Facebook ad that takes users directly to a landing page. The button includes call-to-actions such as "shop now," "book now," "learn more," "sign up," "download," "shop more," "contact us," "apply now," and "donate now."

 

Campaign ID

This is a unique numerical ID associated with a campaign.

 

Campaign Level

The campaign level contains one or more ad sets and ads. When creating an ad at the campaign level, advertisers can choose an objective.

 

Campaign Spending Limit

A campaign spending limit allows you to set an overall spending limit for an entire campaign. A campaign spending limit does not affect your ads’ delivery, but it ensures that all the ad sets and ads in your campaign stop running once your campaign spends the amount you have set.

 

Carousel Ad Format

Carousel ads are ads that include up to 10 images or videos within a single ad unit that direct users to specific locations on a website. Each carousel ad contains up to 10 carousel cards which users can swipe through and click.

 

Check-Ins

Check-Ins is a Facebook feature that allows you to disclose your current location to your Facebook friends (if your profile is private). If your page includes an address, it will appear in a list of possible locations to check in to when people are nearby.

 

Checkouts (Conversion)

The number of times a checkout was completed on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Checkouts Conversion Value

The total value returned from conversions on your website as a result of your ad. Advertisers must have custom conversions enabled for this to appear in their reports.

 

Click Through Rate (CTR)

Click through rate (CTR) is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown on the site (impressions) in the same time period. CTR All means the click through rate for the total number of clicks you received—offsite clicks, likes, event responses—divided(...)

 

Clicks

Clicks is a metric that is measured by the amount of time a user clicks on an ad. Clicks to like, share, or comment, and clicks on the CTA button are measured as clicks. This is different from Clicks (All) that displays the total number of offsite clicks to your website.

 

Clicks to Play

Clicks to Play is a Facebook video metric that is measured by the number of times a video starts and plays for a minimum of three seconds after a person has clicked it. This metric is available for both videos uploaded and embedded directly to Facebook from players outside of Facebook. It is(...)

 

Clicks to Play Video

Connections is a targeting option in which advertisers can target the people who liked their page or location, installed their app, or checked in to their advertised location within 24 hours of viewing or clicking an ad or sponsored story.

 

Conversion Tracking Pixel

A conversion pixel is a piece of JavaScript code that places a blank 1 x 1 pixel image on your website. When users visit a page of your website with an installed conversion pixel, the pixel will ping Facebook and record their visit and information, such as whether they saw any of your ads.(...)

 

Conversions

Conversions are the number of times people completed a desired action, such as purchases on a website or sign-ups for a newsletter.

 

Core Audiences

Core audiences is a targeting option that allows advertisers to reach precise audiences based on four main targeting types: location, demographic, interests, and behaviors. Facebook pulls data from the information users share on their profiles and the behaviors they exhibit online and offline.

 

Cost per 1,000 People Reached

The average cost advertisers pay to show their ads to 1,000 unique users.

 

Cost per 10-Second Video View

The average cost per 10-second video view, calculated as the amount spent divided by the number of 10-second video views.

 

Cost Per Action

The average amount you are paying for each action consumers make on your ads. Payment costs depend on the amount of advertisers competing to show their ads to your target audience. Well-designed ads will encourage more people to take action, and the more actions you get for your budget, the(...)

 

Cost per All Actions

The average cost of all actions tracked by your Facebook pixel or conversion pixels on your website after people viewed or clicked on your ad. For example, if you spent $20 and you got 10 page likes, each one costs an average of $2.

 

Cost Per App Engagement

The average cost per action related to the app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per App Story Engagement

The average cost per action related to the app story as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per App Use

The average cost for each app use as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Check-In

The average cost for each check-in as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Checkout (Conversion)

The average cost for each checkout on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Click (CPC)

The cost-per-click (CPC) is the amount you pay each time a user clicks on your ad. The CPC for any ad is determined by the advertiser, and some advertisers may be willing to pay more per click than others. If your ads are bid on a CPC basis, you will be charged when users click on your ads and(...)

 

Cost per Clicks to Play Video

The number of times your video was viewed to 50% of its length, including views that skipped to this point.

 

Cost Per Credit Spend Action

The average cost for each credit spend action as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Event Response

The average cost for each person who joins your event as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Gift Sale

The average cost of each gift you sold on Facebook as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Key Web Page View (Conversion)

The average cost for each view of a key page on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Lead (Conversion)

The average cost for each lead on your website as a result of your ads.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Achievement

The average cost for each level-achieved action in a gaming app as a result of an ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Action

The average cost per action on an app as a result of an ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Add To Cart

The average cost for each add-to-cart action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Add To Wishlist

The average cost for each add-to-wish-list action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Checkout

The average cost for each initiated checkout action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Content View

The average cost for each registration action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Credit Spend

The average cost for each credit spend action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Feature Unlock

The average cost for each feature- or-achievement-unlocked action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Mobile App Install

The average cost for each install from a mobile device as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Payment Detail

The average cost for each add payment information action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Purchase

The average cost for each app purchase as a result of an ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Rating

The average cost for each rating of an app as a result of an ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Registration

The average cost for each registration action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Search

The average cost for each search action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Start

The average cost for each mobile-app-start action as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Mobile App Tutorial Completion

The average cost for each tutorial completion action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Offer Claim

The average cost for each offer claim as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Other Mobile App Action

The average cost for each other action in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Other Website Conversion

The average cost for each time someone took another action on your website as a result of your
ad.

 

Cost per Page Engagement

The average cost per action related to your page and your page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Page Like

The average cost for each page like as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Page Mention

The average cost for each page mention as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Page Tab View

The average cost of views of tabs on your page as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Photo View

The average cost for each photo view as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Post Comment

The average cost for each comment on your page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Post Engagement

The average cost per action related to your page's posts as a result of your ad or total spend divided by the total number of engagement actions.

 

Cost per Post Like

The average cost for each like on your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Post Share

The average cost for each share on your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Question Follow

The average cost for each question follow as a result of your ad.

 

Cost per Registration (Conversion)

The average cost for each registration on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Cost Per Thousand

Info about CPM will go here.

 

Cost Per Thousand (CPM)

The average cost you've paid to have 1,000 impressions on your ad. If your ads are bid on a CPM basis, you will be charged when users view your ads, regardless of whether or not they click on them.

 

Cost per Unique Click (All)

The number of any clicks you received on your ad, divided by the number of impressions.

 

Cost per Video View

The average cost per video view, calculated as the amount spent divided by the number of video views.

 

Cost per Website Action (All)

The average cost of all actions tracked by your Facebook pixel or conversion pixels on your website after people viewed or clicked on your ad.

 

Country

Countries are a targeting option and can be added to the Location field when creating an ad. Countries are where the people you've reached are located. This is based on information like a person's hometown, their current city and the geographical location where they tend to be when they visit(...)

 

Cover Photo

Your cover photo is the large picture at the top of your profile, right above your profile picture. All cover photos are public, which means that anyone visiting your Page will be able to see it. Best practices include using a unique image that represents your brand.

 

CPC (Link)

Cost per click to link. The amount you are charged each time someone clicks on the link in your ad that directs people off Facebook. Your total charges are based on the amount you spent on the ad divided by the clicks to link the ad received.

 

Credit Spends

The number of times advertising coupons were spent in your app as a result of your ad.

 

Current Balance

Your current balance is the total amount you’ve spent on ads which you haven’t been billed for yet. This balance will be cleared automatically after we charge your payment method for the amount. You can see a summary of your charges in the billing section under Ads Manager.

 

Custom Audience

A Custom Audience is an ad targeting option that allows advertisers to target an audience from an uploaded customer list. The list can be comprised of people from a customer file or people tracked by the Facebook pixel who have visited or took actions on a website, app, or Facebook page.

 

Custom Conversions

Custom conversions allow marketers to track and optimize for conversions without adding anything to the Facebook pixel code placed on your site. Custom conversions can be used with Standard Events or URL base variables. Custom conversions replaced the Facebook conversion pixel which was(...)

 

 

D

Daily Active Users

This metric is the number of people who have viewed or interacted with your Facebook Page on a specific day. It’s categorized by the type of action they perform. It's also been used to measure "stickiness" of an online product or how many unique users visit the site daily.

 

Daily Budget

The amount you’ve indicated you’re willing to spend on a specific campaign per day. Facebook will never charge you more than your daily budget on a given day. Each ad set will have a separate budget. Ads will automatically stop showing once a daily budget for the ad set has been met for that day.

 

Daily Page Activity

This data breaks down the different ways people engage with a Facebook page on a specific day. (Engagement does not include comments and likes on posts.) The daily page activity will show when followers post, upload photos or videos on a business page (if enabled), write reviews, or mention(...)

 

Daily Spend Limit

The daily spend limit is the maximum amount that Facebook will allow you to spend in one day.

 

Delivery

This tells you if your campaign, ad set or ad is currently running.

 

Delivery Fatigue

Performance may decline over time for ad sets that have run for extended periods

 

Desktop App Credit Spends Conversion Value

The total value returned from advertising coupons spent in your desktop app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Destination

The ad’s destination is the landing page that users will land on after they click on an ad.

 

Device

The device on which the conversion event you're tracking occurred. For example, "Desktop" if someone converted on a desktop computer.

 

Dynamic Product Ads

Help businesses sell products online by showing relevant products from their catalog to the people who want to buy them. Dynamic product ads give marketers a powerful set of tools to promote the right product to the right person at the right time, and with a personalized message.

 

 

E

End Date

The date a campaign is scheduled to stop. Campaigns can run continuously or until specific dates.

 

Engaged Users

This is the number of engaged individuals who have clicked anywhere on one of your Facebook Page posts. For example, someone could have Liked one of your posts, commented on it, or shared it.

 

Event Responses

The number of joins for your event as a result of your ad.

 

External Referrers

External referrers are the number of views your Facebook Page received from website URLs that aren’t part of Facebook.com.

 

 

F

Facebook Audience Selector

The audience selector, a feature available to pages, allows page admins to select an audience for the content posted on the page.

 

Facebook Badge

A Facebook badge allows website owners to share their Facebook profiles, photos, or pages on their websites.

 

Facebook Block

You can block someone to unfriend them and limit the ways they can get in touch with you on Facebook. Blocking can help stop someone from bothering you on Facebook. Blocked can also mean that Facebook has temporarily restricted you from using a specific feature or multiple features, but you(...)

 

Facebook Event

Facebook event is a feature that lets users organize gatherings and respond to invites. Users can post statuses, upload photos, dates, and event details to an event page.

 

Facebook Exchange (FBX)

The Facebook Exchange helps advertisers reach users who will potentially be interested in their offer. Interest is determined by the expressed interest in a similar type of offer online. This feature is typically used by advertisers who have data on users’ intent to buy a product.

 

Facebook Fan

In Page Insights, and other places on Facebook, “fans” is another way to refer to the people who Like your Page.

 

Facebook Follow

A follow is an action that occurs when a user either likes or follows a page or a profile or adds another user as a friend. When a user follows a page or a person, that user will see the posts of the person or the page on news feed.

 

Facebook Groups

Facebook Groups are private spaces where you can keep in touch with people by sharing updates, photos or documents. Facebook Groups make it easy to connect with specific sets of people, such as coworkers. They’re dedicated spaces where you can share updates, photos, and documents as well as(...)

 

Facebook Like

Liking is an action that occurs on Facebook when users click on the like button symbolized by the Facebook thumbs-up icon.

 

Facebook Link Ads

Link ads contain CTA buttons that direct users to a website.

 

Facebook Live API

Live API is a new way for developers and publishers to build immersive and interactive live video experiences on Facebook. The Facebook Live API also makes it possible for device manufacturers to integrate Live directly into their latest video products. You can seamlessly incorporate Live into(...)

 

Facebook Messages

Messages are similar to private email messages. They appear in your Facebook Inbox and can include text messages, chats, emails, and mobile messages from your Facebook Friends.

 

Facebook Milestones

Milestones are a special type of Page post that lets you highlight key moments on your Page’s Timeline. You can use milestones to share important events that tell the story of your Page is about.

 

Facebook Notes

The Notes feature lets you publish messages in rich-text format, giving you greater flexibility than simple updates allow. In addition to formatting your text, you can add photos and tag other people in your note.

 

Facebook Page

Facebook Pages help businesses, organizations, and brands share their stories and connect with people. Like profiles, you can customize Pages by posting stories, hosting events, adding apps, and more. People who like your Page can get updates in their News Feeds.Pages allow businesses, brands(...)

 

Facebook Page Views

Page views are the total number of times your Facebook Page was viewed during the time period you select.

 

Facebook Pixel

A piece of JavaScript code for your website that enables you to measure and optimize, as well as build audiences for your ad campaigns. This also also you to display remarketing ads and build custom conversions for users visiting specific pages of your website.

 

Facebook Search

Search is a tool to find people, posts, photos, places, Pages, Groups, apps, and events on Facebook.

 

Frequency

Frequency is the average number of times your ad was shown to each person. You may see this number both at the ad and ad set level of a campaign.

 

Friend

Friends are people you connect and share with on Facebook. You can send as well as receive Friend requests from other Facebook members.

 

Friends of Fans

This is a targeting option that allows you to reach individuals who are friends with people who Like your Facebook Page.

 

 

G

Gender

This is a targeting option on Facebook that allows you to display ads to a specific gender. Gender is also reported in the Audience Insights reports.

 

Gift Sale Conversion Value

The total value returned from the gift sale conversions as a result of your ad.

 

Gift Sales

The number of gifts you sold on Facebook as a result of your ad.

 

 

I

Impressions

The number of times your ad entered the screen for the first time. People may see multiple impressions of the same post. For example, someone might see a page update in News Feed once and then a second time if a friend shares it.

 

Instagram Stories

Instagram Stories is a new feature that lets you share all the moments of your day in a format similar to Snapchat. As you share multiple photos and videos, they appear together in a slideshow format that can be viewed by the users following you on Instagram.

 

Interest Targeting

Interest targeting is a targeting option that allows advertisers to target an audience with particular interests such as activities, music, movies, and TV shows.

 

 

K

Key Web Page Views (Conversion)

The number of times a key page was viewed on your website as a result of your ad.

 

 

L

Landing Page

A landing page is a single web page that appears in response to clicking an online advertisement. The landing page will usually display directed sales copy that is a logical extension of the advertisement, search result or link.

 

Language

This is the number of people who saw any content about your Page grouped by language, based on default language settings.

 

Lead Generation

Lead generation is the building up of interest in a business's products or services. To do this, businesses often create campaigns that encourage consumers to fill out a form with their contact information. Facebook launched Lead Ads in 2015 to help advertisers generate more leads from(...)

 

Lead Magnet

A valuable offer advertisers give to potential customers in exchange for their personal information.

 

Leads (Conversion)

A lead is a potential customer who responded to your lead ad and gave you his or her contact information. When analyzing data, it can also refer to the number of new leads acquired as a result of an ad.

 

Leads Conversion Value

The total value returned from acquiring new leads on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Life Event

The Life Event option lets you add experiences from the different parts of your life to your Timeline. Life Events are divided into categories (ex: Work & Education, Family & Relationships), and you can use them to share many different kinds of important moments, from an engagement or trip to(...)

 

Lifetime Budget

A lifetime budget lets you set an amount to spend over the lifetime of an ad set. Our system will automatically try to evenly spread the amount you spend across the period of time that you've selected.

 

Like Sources

A metric, which can be found within page insights, shows the number of times users liked a Facebook page at a specified date range.

 

Liked by Page

This section features all of the other Pages that you, as the Page, Like.

 

Link Clicks

The number of clicks on links appearing on your ad or Page that direct people off Facebook as a result of your ad. (Ex: clicks to install an app, view an offsite video, clicks to another website, call-to-action button clicks to another website, etc.)

 

Lookalike Audiences

This is a type of audience that's created by Facebook to help advertisers reach people who are similar to "look like" an audience that they care about. Lookalike audiences can only be created from custom audiences.

 

 

M

Marquee Campaigns

A premium product for Instagram advertisers that helps drive mass awareness and expanded reach in a short time frame—perfect for events like movie premieres and new product launches.

 

Media Consumption

This is the number of times a piece of media content that you published on your Page – including a video, photo, or audio clip – is clicked and viewed on a specific day.

 

Mixed Values

Mixed values, also known as multiple values, mean that the value of that field isn't identical across the campaigns, ad sets or ads you're editing. For example, if you're editing multiple ad sets at the same time and they have different budgets, you'll see multiple values where the fields(...)

 

Mobile App Achievements

The number of levels achieved in your mobile app as a result of of your ad.

 

Mobile App Actions

The number of actions that occurred in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Actions Conversion Value

The total value returned from actions that occurred in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Adds to Cart

The number of times something was added to a shopping cart in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Adds to Cart Conversion Value

The total value returned from items added to a cart in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Adds to Wishlist

The number of times something was added to a wishlist in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Adds to Wishlist Conversion Value

The total value returned from items added to a wishlist in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Checkouts

The number of checkouts initiated in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Checkouts Conversion Value

The total value returned from checkouts initiated in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Content Views

The number of content views in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Content Views Conversion Value

The total value returned from content views in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Credit Spends

The number of times advertising coupons were spent in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Feature Unlocks

The number of features, levels or achievements that were unlocked in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Install Ads

Mobile app install ads help developers reach people on mobile devices. When people click on the ad on the mobile device, they will be directed to the App Store or Google Play to install the app.

 

Mobile App Installs

The number of installs from a mobile device as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Payment Details

The number of times payment information was entered in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Purchases

The number of times a purchase was made in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Purchases Conversion Value

The total value returned from purchases made in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Ratings

The number of ratings in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Ratings Conversion Value

The total value returned from ratings in your mobile app as a result of your ad. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Mobile App Registrations

The number of mobile app registrations as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Searches

The number of searches in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Starts

The number of mobile app starts as a result of your ad.

 

Mobile App Tutorial Completions

The number of tutorials completed in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Monthly Active Users

This is the number of people who have viewed your Facebook Page or interacted with it during the previous 30 days. By tracking this metric, you can determine the degree to which your Facebook influence fluctuates monthly or seasonally.

 

Multicultural Affinity

Used to describe the quality of people who are interested in and likely to respond well to multicultural content. referring to their affinity to the cultures they are interested in. based on affinity, not ethnicity.

 

 

N

Net Likes

The difference between the number of people who have liked a page and the number of people who have unliked a page over a specific time period.

 

New Likes

This total is the number of unique individuals who Liked your Facebook Page during a specific date range that you set yourself.

 

News Feed

News feed, a scrollable trail of posts, is the main part of Facebook where the posts of friends, family, followed pages, and ads appear.

 

Notifications

Notifications are updates about activity on Facebook that a user is involved in. For example, users can receive notifications if someone commented on their posts or a post that they previously commented on. They can also receive reaction, birthday, and saved post notifications, among many others.

 

 

O

Objective

When you advertise a Page, app or event, you’ll be asked “What would you like to do?” after you enter your destination. The answer to this question is the goal of your ad and the choices you have depends on what you’re advertising. The objective you selected for your ad. Your objective(...)

 

Offer

Certain businesses, brands, and organizations can share discounts with their customers by posting an offer on their Facebook Page. When someone claims an offer, they’ll receive an email that they can show at the Page’s physical location to get the discount. A Facebook Offer is an official way(...)

 

Offer Claimed Story

A sponsored story that appears in the News Feeds or sidebars of friends of those who have claimed your Facebook Offer.

 

Offer Claims

The number of claims on your offers as a result of your ad.

 

Optimized CPM

Optimized CPM, Facebook's optimization bid type, enables you to choose an objective (or goals) for your advertising. To meet these objectives, for example sending users to your website or promoting a product catalog, Facebook will optimize your ads delivery. With optimized CPM, Facebook will(...)

 

Optimizing for App Events

An optimization and pricing option available in Power Editor and Ads API for mobile app engagement ads. It optimizes your ad for people most likely to complete an app event while charging you for impressions.

 

Organic Reach

Organic reach is the number of unique individuals who saw a specific post from your Page on their News Feeds, tickers, or directly on their Pages.

 

Other Clicks

This is a measurement of clicks not on the content of your Facebook Page post, but rather of clicks on the Page title or to “see more.”

 

Other Mobile App Actions

The number of other actions in your mobile app as a result of your ad.

 

Other Website Conversion Value

The total value returned from other conversions on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Other Website Conversions

The number of other conversions on your website that happened as a result of your ad.

 

 

P

Page Admin

When you create a Page, you automatically become the Page’s admin, which means only you can change how the Page looks and post as the Page. You can then assign roles to other people to help you manage your Page. The page admin role has full access to the page and can add or remove other page(...)

 

Page Engagement

The number of actions related to the Page and your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Page Like Story

A sponsored story surfaced to the friends who have liked the Page owned by the advertiser. These ads message the user to let them know that “Friend X” likes this Page, thus encouraging them to do the same.

 

Page Likes

The number of likes on your Page as a result of your ad.

 

Page Mentions

The number of mentions of your Page as a result of your ad.

 

Page Post Ad

The promotion of a post (status update, video, photo share, link share) previously created by a Page.

 

Page Tab Views

The number of views of tabs on your Page as a result of your ad.

 

Paid Reach

This is the number of unique individuals who saw a specific post from your Page through a paid source like a Facebook Ad or Promoted Post.

 

Partner Categories

Partner categories are a targeting option you can use with your ad to identify and reach the right people with the right message on Facebook, based on their activity off of Facebook.

 

Payment Methods

Verified forms of payment you can add to your Facebook account to pay for ads. You can view your all currently active credit cards as well as any active advertising coupons under the Payment Methods tab of your ad account.

 

People Taking Action

The number of unique people who took an action such as liking your Page or installing your app as a result of your ad. For example, if the same person likes and comments on a post, they will be counted as 1 unique person.

 

Photo Views

The number of views of your photos as a result of your ad.

 

Pixel Helper

The Facebook Pixel Helper is a Chrome extension that helps you check whether your Facebook pixel is working properly on any website.

 

Placement

Where ad units will appear. Options for Facebook include desktop newsfeed, mobile newsfeed and right column on desktop. Ads may also show on Instagram and the Audience Network.

 

Post Attribution

Your posts, Likes, and comments on your Page’s timeline will be attributed to the Page itself, even if you’re logged into Facebook as yourself and not the Page. Whether you’re creating a post or scrolling through News Feed, you can choose to act as a Page or as yourself from a convenient(...)

 

Post Comments

The number of comments on your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Post Engagement

The number of actions (ex: likes, comments, shares, photo views, link clicks, video views) related to your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Post Reach

This is the number of people who have seen your post. You post counts as reaching someone when it’s shown in their News Feed. Figures displayed in Insights are for the first 28 days after a post was created and include people viewing your post on desktop and mobile.

 

Post Shares

The number of shares of your Page's posts as a result of your ad.

 

Post Views

Post views are the number of times a story published on your Facebook Page News Feed was viewed during the time period you select.

 

Posts to Page

Posts to Page are any posts made to your Page by someone other than an admin. This way, your Timeline will showcase messages and content from your brand only. Any questions or feedback from customers will be found in the Posts to Page section on the left-hand side of your Page.

 

Potential Reach

Potential reach is the number of monthly active people on Facebook that match the audience you defined through your audience targeting selections.

 

Power Editor

Power Editor is a tool designed for larger advertisers who need to create lots of ads at once and have precise control of their campaigns. It allows you to import data from Excel, as well as make managing bulk ads, individual ads, ads sets and multiple campaigns much easier. Power Editor is(...)

 

Price

This is the amount you’re paying per click (CPC), cost per install (CPI) or cost per 1,000 impressions (CPM).

 

Primary Payment Method

The default payment method on your account. Any ad you create will be charged to this payment method. If there's a problem with your primary payment method and Facebook is unable to charge it, any backup payment methods you add to your account may be charged.

 

Profile

Your Profile is your collection of photos, stories, and experiences that tell your story. It includes your Timeline, profile picture, biography, and personal information. It can be public or private, andt it is only for non-commercial use.

 

Promoted Post

Promoted posts, also known as sponsored stories, are an easy way to get more people to see your posts in News Feed. If you’re a Page admin, you can promote recent posts directly from your Page timeline by going to the bottom of any post that’s been recently created, and clicking on the(...)

 

 

R

Reach

The total number of individual people who saw sponsored stories or ads in a specified campaign. This is different from impressions, which includes people seeing them multiple times.

 

Registrations (Conversion)

The number of times a registration was completed on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Registrations Conversion Value

The total value returned from completed registration conversions on your website as a result of your ad.

 

Reports

Reports are the documentation of your most important ad metrics that can show you how you're reaching your business goals.

 

Result Rate

The number of results you received divided by the number of impressions.

 

Results

The number of actions as a result of your ad. The results you see here are based on your objective.

 

 

S

Shared Login

A shared login, sometimes called a gray account or business account, is a type of login credentials for Facebook that lets you manage a Page or an advertising account without having a personal Facebook profile. Most people who have shared logins use them exclusively for work, and sometimes(...)

 

Social Click Rate

This is the number of social clicks divided by social impressions.

 

Social Clicks

Clicks on ads that were shown with the names of viewers’ friends who liked your Page, RSVPed to your event or used an app.

 

Social Clicks (All)

The number of any clicks your ad receives (ex: likes, event responses, offsite clicks) when it's shown with social information.

 

Social Impressions

Impressions that were shown with the names of the viewer’s friends who liked your Page, RSVPed to your event or used your app. This is the number of times your ad was viewed and included social information. Social impressions may be different than the number of unique people who viewed your(...)

 

Social Reach

People who saw your sponsored stories or ads with social info about people and Pages they’re connected to on Facebook. These connections may have Liked your Page, responded to an event or used your app. If you’re not using sponsored stories or advertising a Page, event or app, you won’t have(...)

 

Source Audience

A source audience is the audience a Lookalike Audience is based on. For example, if you create a Lookalike Audience from your Page fans, your Page fans would be the source audience.

 

Spent Today

The amount spent on your ad set since 12am today. If you set a daily budget for an ad set, you'll see your progress towards that budget here.

 

Start Date

The date a campaign is eligible to start running ads. Campaigns can run continuously or be limited with specific dates.

 

Status

The status of your campaigns, ad sets, and ads can be turned on or off. Keep in mind that if your campaign is Off you'll need to turn it On before your ad sets and ads can run. Each campaign may be running, paused, completed or deleted.

 

Suggested Bid Range

A bid range that Facebook suggests to advertisers to ensure that their ads receive the right amount of impressions. The necessary bid for a specific ad may change over time due to changes in the available pool of ads, as well as the ad's performance. Bidding below the suggested range will(...)

 

 

T

Tagging

An action that links a person or page to something a user posts, may that be a photo, a status, or a check-in.

 

Targeted Audience

Targeted audience is the number of people your targeting can reach. You'll see an estimate of this, like the estimate you see while creating an ad. Use the Audience graph to see the difference between how many people you're actually reaching and how many people you could be reaching. Increase(...)

 

Total Conversion Value

The total revenue returned from conversions or Facebook credit spends that occurred on your website or app. This is based on the value assigned to the conversion type in your pixel code.

 

Trademark

A trademark is a word, slogan, symbol or design (ex: brand name or logo) that identifies and distinguishes the products or services offered by one party from those offered by others.

 

Transactions

All completed payments for advertising services are listed as completed transactions in your billing summary. To see a more detailed view of each completed payment you can click the transaction ID found in the transaction column.

 

Trending

Trending shows you a list of topics and hashtags that have recently spiked in popularity on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat or other social media networks. On Facebook, this is a personalized list based on your location, Pages you’ve liked, and what’s trending across Facebook.

 

 

U

Unique Clicks (All)

The total number of unique people who have clicked on your ad. For example, if 10 people click on the same ad 5 times, it will count as 50 total clicks and 10 unique clicks.

 

Unique CTR (All)

Unique click-through rate for all clicks. The number of people who clicked anywhere in your ad, divided by the number of people you reached. Ex: if you received 10 unique clicks and your ad was shown to 1,000 unique people, your unique click-through rate would be 1%.

 

 

V

VAT

VAT stands for value added tax. Most businesses in the EU are required to register for value added tax (VAT) and the VAT registration number provides a unique identifier for the collection and remittance of VAT to the appropriate tax authorities.

 

Verification Hold

This $1.01 is a temporary authorization by Facebook to validate your credit card. The charge will be removed from your credit card automatically, typically within 3-5 business days.

 

Video Ads

Video ads are ad formats that, when clicked, play a video.

 

Video Views

The number of times users viewed a video for three seconds or more.

 

Video Views to 25%

The number of times your video was viewed to 25% of its length, including views that skipped to this point.

 

Video Views to 50%

The number of times your video was viewed to 50% of its length, including views that skipped to this point.

 

Video Views to 75%

The number of times your video was viewed to 75% of its length on Facebook or Instagram, including views that skipped to this point.

 

Video Views to 95%

The number of times your video was viewed to 95% of its length, including views that skipped to this point.

 

Virtual Reality

Virtual realities artificially create sensory experiences, which can include sight, touch, hearing, and smell. Facebook recently acquired Oculus Virtual Reality, which will enable you to be immersed in an environment, real or imagined. It simulates a user's physical presence and environment in(...)